Making Democracy Work

About the League

How are we structured? What is our history? What is our mission?

Who are we?

We are women and men of the Piedmont Triad, working politically, but in a non-partisan way,on many issues.

Brief History of the League of Women Voters of the Piedmont Triad

The League in this part of North Carolina started with a Community Survey of Greensboro in 1949. In the 1980s we became the League of Women Voters of Guilford County and in 1999 we joined forces with the League of Women Voters of Winston-Salem/Forsyth to become the League of Women Voters of the Piedmont Triad. Male members joined our League as soon as the LWVUS made that possible. Today we have many active male members and we welcome their participation.

Over the years we have had sessions for the public called Civics 101, 102, 103, 104 covering general government in our area, the judicial system, and health care.

A former president has served as Mayor of Greensboro and our members currently serve on the City Council of Greensboro and the Board of County Commissioners while other members serve in the judiciary and in the general assembly.

In 2000 we followed the lead of another League in North Carolina and instituted lunch meetings, Lunch with the League. Our attendance has gone from approximately 35 to over 100 people at some meetings. We have speakers or panels on topics of interest to our League and to the community at large.

Over many years, the LWVPT has studied many topics and arrived at consensus to form positions for action. Our most recent local study was the jail and alternatives to incarceration in Guilford County.

Our Mission and Roles

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in our democratic government. The League influences public policy through education and advocacy. We never support or oppose any political party or candidate.

The League of Women Voters has two separate and distinct roles.

  • Voters Service/Citizen Education: we present unbiased nonpartisan information about elections, the voting process, and issues.

  • Action/Advocacy: we are nonpartisan, but, after study, we use our positions to advocate for or against particular policies in the public interest.

To conduct our voter service and citizen education activities, we use funds from the Citizens Education Foundation, which is a 501(c)(3) corporation, a nonprofit educational organization. The League of Women Voters, a membership organization, conducts action and advocacy and is a nonprofit 501(c)(4) corporation.

Our Vision, Beliefs, and Intentions guide our activities.

Board of Directors

Board of Directors, LWVPT 2017-2018
PositionNameEmail

PresidentTracy Nashpresident@lwvpt.org
Vice-PresidentVicki White-Lawrencevicepresident@lwvpt.org
SecretaryVacantsec@lwvpt.org
TreasurerMargaret FlanneryTreasurer@lwvpt.org
Co-president EmeritusJanice Siebertpresemeritus@lwvpt.org
Membership Co-ChairPeggy Ferebeemembership@lwvpt.org
Membership Co-ChairJanice Siebertmembership@lwvpt.org
Fair Elections RTWalter Salingerfer@lwvpt.org
Fair Elections RTAndy Sternfer@lwvpt.org
Publicity ChairEllen WeinerPublicity@lwvpt.org
Voter Service ChairCatherine MagidVoterService@lwvpt.org
Immigration Reform RTWhitney Vanderwerffirt@lwvpt.org
Lunch With League CoordinatorJudy HoagLunchCoordinator@lwvpt.org
Social Justice RTAnna FesmireSocialJustice@lwvpt.org
DirectorPeggy Bradtpeggybradt@lwvpt.org
DirectorKay Brandonkaybrandon@lwvpt.org
DirectorBob KollarCorresondent@lwvpt.org
DirectorAnn ShawAnnShaw@lwvpt.org
DirectorGary KentonSallyAustinProject@lwvpt.org
Chair Social MediaAddy JeffreySocialMedia@lwvpt.org
Chair Immigration Reform RTWhitney Vanderwerffirt@lwvpt.org
Webmaster & Editor Voter ImpactMarlene Prattolwvptmail@gmail.com

Adjuncts to the Board

PublicityEllen Weinerpublicity@lwvpt.org
NominatingEllen Weinernominate@lwvpt.org
Lunch with the League ReservationsBonnie Kristoffbbklunch@gmail.com
Environment RTDick Feulnerert1@lwvpt.org
Environment RTJudy Hoagert2@lwvpt.org
Public Education RTDot Kearnsper@lwvpt.org
Public Education RTWillie Taylorper@lwvpt.org
Co-Chair Voter RegistrationGloria HarrisVoterRegistration@lwvpt.org
Co-Chair Voter RegistrationBarbara CarterVoterRegistration@lwvpt.org
Co-Chair Sally Austin ProjectJoan DresslerSallyAustinProject@lwvpt.org

Other League Organizations

The League of Women Voters of the Piedmont Triad is one of several Leagues in North Carolina.

Our members are also members of:

See other Leagues in North Carolina.

History of the League of Women Voters

LWVPT By-laws

Each League has by-laws. The by-laws are modified as recommended by the national or state League or upon recommendation of a local committee. The bylaws of the LWVPT were last revised in January, 2017.

LWVPT Member Handbook

The LWVPT Member Handbook was recently updated.

LWVPT Public Policy Positions